Kelly McEvers http://kgou.org en Immigrants Feel Like Targets As Deportations Increase http://kgou.org/post/immigrants-feel-targets-deportations-increase Morning Edition spent a lot of time recently reporting from the U.S.-Mexico border. President Obama has deported 2 million people from the U.S. But many say that number is misleading. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:28:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 27496 at http://kgou.org Hoping To Slim POW-MIA Bureaucracy, Hagel Makes One Out Of Two http://kgou.org/post/hoping-slim-pow-mia-bureaucracy-hagel-makes-one-out-two Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel announced the creation of a new defense agency charged with merging the multiple divisions currently responsible for finding and identifying the more than 80,000 members missing from past conflicts. A five-month investigation by NPR and the independent news agency ProPublica had found the U.S. recovery effort to be slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 26303 at http://kgou.org Deportees To Mexicali Wait For Another Chance To Cross Into U.S. http://kgou.org/post/deportees-mexicali-wait-another-chance-cross-us Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. With Linda Wertheimer, I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>It was the middle of a sunny day when our road trip along the U.S.-Mexico border led us to one of the driest regions we'd seen.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF A VEHICLE)<p>INSKEEP: For a moment there, the landscape made our producer, Selena Simmons-Duffin, think of "Lawrence of Arabia." We had sand dunes over sand dunes over sand dunes. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 26038 at http://kgou.org Capitol's Immigration Stagnation Gets Dreamers Moving On The Border http://kgou.org/post/capitols-immigration-stagnation-gets-dreamers-moving-border With deportations at a record high under the Obama administration, and with immigration reform stalled in Congress, Dreamer protest groups are trying to keep the issue alive with actions of their own. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 25524 at http://kgou.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy http://kgou.org/post/us-grave-science-marked-risk-aversion-and-bureacracy In part two of <a href="http://apps.npr.org/grave-science/">a joint investigation by NPR and ProPublica</a>, we look at the agency charged with bringing home and identifying the 83,000 American war dead. It's stymied by an extreme aversion to risk. See the <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 24726 at http://kgou.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy Thousands Fall From Middle Class After RV Industry Collapse http://kgou.org/post/thousands-fall-middle-class-after-rv-industry-collapse Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We're going to take a close look, now, at the human cost when an industry shuts down. Oregon has kept detailed records on what happened to thousands of people who lost their jobs when the state's RV manufacturing industry imploded during the recession. Since then, many workers dropped from middle wage to low wage earners, a trend playing out across the United States. Some fared even worse. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 12:30:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 19830 at http://kgou.org Dwindling Middle Class Has Repercussions For Small Towns http://kgou.org/post/reinventing-dwindling-middle-class-may-take-revolution My parents moved away from Lincoln, Ill., two decades ago, when I was in college. I hardly ever get back there. But my mom still works in Lincoln, and it was to Lincoln I headed to meet her this fall, after returning to the U.S. from the Middle East.<p>I got off the train from Chicago and immediately saw that the old depot building — where we used to go for fancy dinners before prom — was shuttered. A little monument commemorating the day Abraham Lincoln named the town in 1853 was faded and peeling. There was a man asleep on a bench at the train stop. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:04:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 16990 at http://kgou.org Dwindling Middle Class Has Repercussions For Small Towns In Iraq, Laying Claim To The Kebab http://kgou.org/post/iraq-laying-claim-kebab When you hear the word "kebab" in America, you might think of skewers with chunks of chicken or beef and vegetables, marinated and grilled on coals or gas. But say "kebab" in the Middle East, and it means a lot of things — chunks of lamb or liver on skewers, or the more popular version of grilled ground meat logs found in Turkey, Iran and much of the Arab world.<p>If you spend enough time in the Middle East, you learn it can be hard to pinpoint the origins of things. Everybody claims to have invented hummus, flatbread and even yogurt. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 22:42:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 11543 at http://kgou.org In Iraq, Laying Claim To The Kebab Al-Jazeera Under Fire For Its Coverage Of Egypt http://kgou.org/post/al-jazeera-under-fire-its-coverage-egypt <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=indIpXbtOUU</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 07:19:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 9854 at http://kgou.org Al-Jazeera Under Fire For Its Coverage Of Egypt Syrian Refugees Caught Up In Egypt's Political Crisis http://kgou.org/post/syrian-refugees-caught-egypts-political-crisis Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>In Egypt, the ouster of President Mohammad Morsi has changed things - not just for Egyptians but also for another group of Arabs living in that country. It's a story of how when one group falls from grace, so do those who are perceived to be its supporters. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 9718 at http://kgou.org