Jeff Lunden http://kgou.org en Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers http://kgou.org/post/labor-conflict-may-lock-out-met-opera-workers The clock is ticking for the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The world's largest opera company may be headed for a shutdown. Most of the union contracts for the Met expire in a week. Yesterday, Met General Manager Peter Gelb sent a letter to the unions, warning them to prepare for a lockout if they don't come to terms.<p>For months now, the company and its unions have been at an impasse. Management has proposed cutting 16 percent of union members' compensation. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 34086 at http://kgou.org Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers Broadway Legend Elaine Stritch Dies At 89 http://kgou.org/post/broadway-legend-elaine-stritch-dies-89 Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Broadway has lost a legend. She's Elaine Stritch, who died yesterday at the age of 89. Even recently she was gaining new fans with a guest role on the TV series "30 Rock." But as we're about to hear, Stritch made her name on the stage. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:41:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 33644 at http://kgou.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://kgou.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 32007 at http://kgou.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow McDonald, Cranston Big Winners At 68th Tony Awards http://kgou.org/post/mcdonald-cranston-big-winners-68th-tony-awards Audra McDonald won a sixth Tony for portraying Billie Holiday in Lady Day at Emerson's Bar & Grill. Bryan Cranston won a best actor trophy for his Broadway debut in All the Way. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 30928 at http://kgou.org While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung http://kgou.org/post/while-broadway-sings-its-praise-wigmaker-remains-unsung Every time you see a Broadway show, chances are a lot of the actors are wearing wigs.<p>Sunday night at the 68<sup>th</sup> Annual Tony Awards, Broadway's highest honors will be presented in a ceremony at Radio City Music Hall. Awards will go to actors, actresses, set and lighting designers, but <em>not</em> the people who make the wigs the stars wear, even though the wigs are an essential part of theater craft.<p>Essential, and yet often invisible, says Jason P. Sun, 08 Jun 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 30900 at http://kgou.org While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://kgou.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 28886 at http://kgou.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool Daniel Radcliffe's 'Crippled' Role Reaches Out To The Remote http://kgou.org/post/daniel-radcliffes-crippled-role-reaches-out-remote Even before he finished his eight-film run as Harry Potter, actor Daniel Radcliffe spent a considerable time devoted to the stage, both in London and New York. He appeared on Broadway in <em>Equus</em> and spent a year playing J. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 14:37:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 27616 at http://kgou.org Daniel Radcliffe's 'Crippled' Role Reaches Out To The Remote Conflicting Tales Of A School Shooting In 'The Library' http://kgou.org/post/conflicting-tales-school-shooting-library <em>The Library</em>, a new play at New York's Public Theater, tackles an uncomfortable contemporary topic head on: It looks at the aftermath of a school shooting and peers into the shattered lives of the survivors, and the stories they tell. The play is written by Scott Z. Burns and directed by Steven Soderbergh, who've collaborated on three films; most recently, the thriller, <em>Side Effects</em>.<p>And even before the play begins, Soderbergh and Burns make the audience uneasy. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 27242 at http://kgou.org Conflicting Tales Of A School Shooting In 'The Library' Broadway Director Kenny Leon Opens Theater Doors To New Audiences http://kgou.org/post/broadway-director-kenny-leon-opens-theater-doors-new-audiences Stage director Kenny Leon is one of the most sought-after creative talents on Broadway today, even if he isn't a household name. He's guided Denzel Washington and Viola Davis to Tony Awards in a Tony-winning revival of August Wilson's <em>Fences</em>, he directed Samuel L. Jackson and Angela Bassett in <em>The Mountaintop</em> and he's got two Broadway shows opening within three months of each other.<p>You've got to have an ego, to be a director, sitting in rehearsal rooms with talented, opinionated actors. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 07:42:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 26787 at http://kgou.org Broadway Director Kenny Leon Opens Theater Doors To New Audiences Road Between Broadway And Hollywood Isn't A One-Way Street http://kgou.org/post/road-between-broadway-and-hollywood-isnt-one-way-street <em>Rocky: The Musical</em>. Really?<p>Producer Bill Taylor says even the show's creators didn't buy the idea at first. "If you speak to all of the authors and all of the creative team, their instinctive reaction, when first hearing about <em>Rocky</em> becoming a musical, ranges from incredulity to plain crazy," he says.<p>For many years, the relationship between Broadway and Hollywood went one way: from stage to screen. But in the past couple of decades, some of the biggest Broadway hits have been adapted from films — think <em>Hairspray</em> or <em>Kinky Boots</em>. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 25057 at http://kgou.org Road Between Broadway And Hollywood Isn't A One-Way Street