Renee Montagne http://kgou.org en Afghanistan Is One Step Closer To Karzai's Successor http://kgou.org/post/afghanistan-one-step-closer-karzais-successor On Saturday, voters turned out in large numbers despite threats of Taliban violence. It will take weeks to learn who will become Afghanistan's next president. Hamid Karzai can't run for a third term Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:14:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26721 at http://kgou.org Backroom Intrigue Persists In Afghan Presidential Election http://kgou.org/post/backroom-intrigue-persists-afghan-presidential-election Morning Edition co-host Renee Montagne is in Afghanistan following the leading candidates in Saturday's presidential election. The top-two contenders are: Zalmai Rassoul and Abdullah Abdullah. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 08:59:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26579 at http://kgou.org To Broaden Appeal, Afghan Candidates Make Surprising Choices http://kgou.org/post/ashraf-ghani-among-leading-candidates-vying-afghan-presidency As Afghans prepare to choose a new president Saturday, it's hard not to notice a striking contradiction.<p>The three leading candidates are all urbane, Westernized men inclined to wear suits and ties in public. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 10:13:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26508 at http://kgou.org To Broaden Appeal, Afghan Candidates Make Surprising Choices With No Karzai On Ballot, Afghans Study Presidential Candidates http://kgou.org/post/no-karzai-ballot-afghans-study-presidential-candidates Voters in Afghanistan will elect a new president this weekend. For the first time since America went to war there, President Hamid Karzai will not be on the ballot. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 09:12:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26261 at http://kgou.org Man Finds More Than A Nest Egg At Flea Market http://kgou.org/post/man-finds-more-nest-egg-flea-market A scrap metal dealer bought a golden egg at a flea market for $14,000 and planned to melt it for a profit. But he discovered it was a Faberge egg — given by Alexander III to his empress in 1887. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25562 at http://kgou.org Will Sanctions Against Russia Work? http://kgou.org/post/will-sanctions-against-russia-work In Brussels on Thursday, EU leaders will discuss stronger sanctions against Russia. Juan Zarate, a senior adviser at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, talks about their options. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:02:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25559 at http://kgou.org Beyond Beans: Starbucks Seeks To Branch Out From Coffee http://kgou.org/post/beyond-beans-starbucks-seeks-branch-out-coffee Starbucks is testing an evening menu that includes wine at more than 25 locations. Now, the company's chief operating officer says it plans to offer its nighttime fare at thousands of U.S. stores. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25556 at http://kgou.org Fed Signals It Won't Tap Brakes Until Job Market Improves http://kgou.org/post/fed-signals-it-wont-tap-brakes-until-job-market-improves David Wessel of the Brookings Institution talks about Janet Yellen's first policy meeting and press conference since taking over as chairwoman of the Federal Reserve. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25547 at http://kgou.org Has Crimea Referendum Sparked A New Cold War? http://kgou.org/post/has-crimea-referendum-sparked-new-cold-war Host Renee Montagne talks with New York Times correspondent Ellen Barry in Moscow about what Vladimir Putin's land grab in Ukraine says about this moment in the post-Soviet history of Russia. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25397 at http://kgou.org South Africans Engrossed By Pistorius Trial http://kgou.org/post/pistorius-trial-sparks-conversations-about-domestic-violence-race Host Renee Montagne talks to Erin Conway-Smith, southern Africa editor for GlobalPost, about the murder trial of Olympic hero Oscar Pistorius. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25400 at http://kgou.org