Elizabeth Blair http://kgou.org en With Humor, 'Dead And Breathing' Dives Into End-Of-Life Struggles http://kgou.org/post/humor-dead-and-breathing-dives-end-life-struggles The play <em>Dead and Breathing</em> begins boldly. Sixty-eight-year-old Carolyn takes off her towel and steps into a bathtub completely naked. She's bathed by her chatty nurse, Veronika.<p>The wealthy, cantankerous woman is dying of cancer. Carolyn, played by Lizan Mitchell, wants to die sooner rather than later, and tries to convince the nurse (N.L. Graham) to help her do that.<p>It's one of the most talked-about new plays at this year's <a href="http://catf.org/">Contemporary American Theater Festival</a> in Shepherdstown, W.Va., which runs through Aug. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 09:47:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 33708 at http://kgou.org With Humor, 'Dead And Breathing' Dives Into End-Of-Life Struggles Actress Elaine Stritch, 'Her Own Greatest Character,' Dies At 89 http://kgou.org/post/actress-elaine-stritch-her-own-greatest-character-dies-89 Elaine Stritch — one of Broadway's boldest and brassiest performers — has died. With that gravelly voice — and those long legs — and that utter command of the stage, Stritch was a bona fide Broadway star. Not as a classic leading lady, necessarily, but as the hardened-yet-vulnerable performer audiences couldn't forget. Stritch died of natural causes Thursday morning at her home in Birmingham, Mich. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:53:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 33610 at http://kgou.org Actress Elaine Stritch, 'Her Own Greatest Character,' Dies At 89 In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero http://kgou.org/post/little-engine-could-some-see-early-feminist-hero "Chug, chug, chug. Puff, puff, puff. Ding-dong, ding-dong."<p>The beloved tale of the little blue engine — who helps bring a broken-down train of toys to the good little boys and girls on the other side of the mountain — has been chugging along for a very long time. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 32923 at http://kgou.org In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero Pfizer Drops $119 Billion Bid For AstraZeneca http://kgou.org/post/pfizer-drops-119-billion-bid-astrazeneca It would have been the biggest deal the pharmaceutical industry has seen in more than a decade. Tue, 27 May 2014 05:36:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 30069 at http://kgou.org Pfizer Drops $119 Billion Bid For AstraZeneca Remembering The 'Father' Of G.I. Joe http://kgou.org/post/remembering-father-gi-joe Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block. Now we're going to remember the man who was known as the father of G.I. Joe. Donald Levine was a toy industry executive in the early 1960s, when the iconic action figure stormed playrooms across the country. Levine died of cancer late last week. He was 86. NPR's Elizabeth Blair does this appreciation.<p>ELIZABETH BLAIR, BYLINE: Donald Levine served in the Army during the Korean War. Mon, 26 May 2014 21:17:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 30064 at http://kgou.org Edgy Video Promotes Christie's Contemporary Art Sale http://kgou.org/post/edgy-video-promotes-christies-contemporary-art-sale Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with a new way of marketing high-end art.<p>Spring auction season has kicked off in New York City. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 28743 at http://kgou.org Bolshoi Director Makes First U.S. Visit Since Acid Attack http://kgou.org/post/bolshoi-director-makes-first-us-visit-acid-attack <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdahDCp5uww</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:19:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 27099 at http://kgou.org Bolshoi Director Makes First U.S. Visit Since Acid Attack Colbert Plans To Take Up The Late Night Mic For CBS http://kgou.org/post/colbert-plans-take-late-night-mic-cbs Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The coveted spot held by David Letterman for 21 years will go to Stephen Colbert. CBS made the announcement today. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:40:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 27018 at http://kgou.org Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] http://kgou.org/post/fans-good-wife-rocked-spoiler-alert The CBS legal drama <em>The Good Wife</em> centers on smart, attractive Chicago lawyer Alicia Florrick. She's "the good wife" because she stood by her politician husband when he cheated on her.<p>But the show's most compelling story line has always been between Alicia and another lawyer, Will Gardner. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 25851 at http://kgou.org Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director http://kgou.org/post/smithsonian-institution-gets-new-director The new head of the Smithsonian Institution was announced Monday. <a href="http://www.cornell.edu/president/about.cfm">David Skorton</a> will leave his job as president of Cornell University to become the institution's 13th secretary since its founding in 1846.<p>Skorton becomes the first physician to lead the Smithsonian. He's a board-certified cardiologist and amateur <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeuZY7uBSG4">jazz musician</a>. Most importantly for the Smithsonian, he's a skilled fundraiser. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 17:46:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 24858 at http://kgou.org Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director