Mara Liasson http://kgou.org en NPR Poll: Obamacare More Popular Than President http://kgou.org/post/npr-poll-obamacare-more-popular-president A new bipartisan NPR poll shows approval numbers rising for Obamacare — which is now slightly more popular than its namesake.<p><a href="http://media.npr.org/documents/2014/april/DCor_RR_graphs.pdf">Our survey</a> of likely voters, conducted for <em>Morning Edition</em> by Democrat Stan Greenberg of Democracy Corps and Republican Whit Ayres of Resurgent Republic, shows the president's health care law is still unpopular, but it might not be as heavy a millstone for Democrats as expected.<p>After a horrendous debut in October, the Affordable Care Act ended its enrollment period with more than 7 Thu, 03 Apr 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 26497 at http://kgou.org NPR Poll: Obamacare More Popular Than President Democrats Count On The Fine Art Of Field Operations http://kgou.org/post/democrats-count-fine-art-field-operations Democrats have had great success in recent presidential elections registering, targeting and turning out their core voters. Now they're hoping to use that sophisticated field operation to to stave off defeat in this year's midterm elections.<p>They'll need all the help they can get because the Democratic hold on the Senate is looking increasingly shaky. The president is unpopular. So is Obamacare, and the number of vulnerable Democratic Senate seats is growing by the day. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 07:22:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 25779 at http://kgou.org Democrats Count On The Fine Art Of Field Operations Obama Rolls Out White House Welcome Mat For Ukrainian Prime Minister http://kgou.org/post/obama-rolls-out-white-house-welcome-mat-ukrainian-prime-minister Ukrainian interim Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk is visiting the White House Wednesday. The meeting comes days before a vote in Crimea over whether to secede from Ukraine. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 25052 at http://kgou.org March Marks A Crucible For Obamacare As Deadline Nears http://kgou.org/post/march-marks-crucible-obamacare-deadline-nears Facing a deadline, the Obama administration is desperate to boost enrollment in health care exchanges. Still millions from their goal, they're stepping up outreach and forgetting politics — for now. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 24959 at http://kgou.org As CPAC Opens, GOP Stars Take Turns At The Podium http://kgou.org/post/cpac-opens-gop-stars-take-turns-podium The Conservative Political Action Conference, an annual gathering of conservative activists, routinely attracts big names in the Republican party — and this year's no different. It starts Thursday. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 24649 at http://kgou.org Lay Of The Land Looks Steep For Senate Democrats http://kgou.org/post/lay-land-looks-steep-senate-democrats With the House of Representatives expected to remain in Republican hands, the Senate will be the focus of midterm elections in 2014. The political landscape there appears unfavorable for Democrats. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:40:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 24180 at http://kgou.org For Boehner And GOP, Path To Immigration Reform Is A Muddle http://kgou.org/post/boehner-and-gop-path-immigration-reform-muddle Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The immigration issue has become a political hot potato for Republicans. Last year, the Senate passed a bipartisan immigration reform bill, and the House decided not to take it up. But then House Republicans changed their minds briefly until they gave up again. NPR's Mara Liasson explains where things stand now.<p>MARA LIASSON, BYLINE: The consensus in Washington was pretty clear: immigration reform was dead for the rest of this year. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 21:13:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 23455 at http://kgou.org As Deficit Anxiety Fades, Debt Rears Its Ugly Head http://kgou.org/post/deficit-anxiety-fades-debt-rears-its-ugly-head Democrats and Republicans have exhausted themselves politically after failing to reach a grand bargain to reduce the debt. Now there's a new economic debate in Washington over economic growth, mobility and income inequality.<p>But without dealing with the debt, Republicans and Democrats might not be able to navigate even the issues they agree on.<p><strong>Moving Away From The Deficit</strong><p>In President Obama's State of the Union address last month, he all but declared victory on the federal deficit. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:27:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 22727 at http://kgou.org As Deficit Anxiety Fades, Debt Rears Its Ugly Head Democrats Worry About Losing Senate Majority http://kgou.org/post/democrats-worry-about-losing-senate-majority Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene.<p>President Obama spent yesterday afternoon meeting with Senate Democrats. The event was held in a meeting space at Nationals Park. That's the baseball stadium in Washington. It was billed as an issues conference. And certainly one of the big issues for the president's party is the possibility that it could lose its majority in the Senate this fall. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 11:17:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 22674 at http://kgou.org Republicans Use Latest CBO Report To Rail Against Obamacare http://kgou.org/post/republicans-use-latest-cbo-report-rail-against-obamacare The new Congressional Budget Office report gives ammunition to Republicans and puts Democrats on the defensive. It said the Affordable Care Act would reduce the number of full-time workers by more than 2 million by the year 2024. But as usual, the truth is more complicated than the headlines and press releases suggest. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 11:16:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 22595 at http://kgou.org