Mandalit del Barco http://kgou.org en Amazon Relents: Begins Selling Rowling's 'Silkworm' http://kgou.org/post/amazon-relents-begins-selling-rowlings-silkworm J.K. Rowling's new book, The Silkworm, has been caught up in Amazon's ongoing fight with publisher Hachette Book Group. Amazon has been delaying delivery on more than 5,000 of Hachette's titles Mon, 23 Jun 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31870 at http://kgou.org Settlement Brings An Early End To Apple's Price-Fixing Case http://kgou.org/post/settlement-brings-early-end-apples-price-fixing-case Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Apple has reached an out-of-court settlement with dozens of states and a number of other plaintiffs over e-book price fixing. The company was facing more than $800 million in damages. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31532 at http://kgou.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen http://kgou.org/post/ruby-dee-actress-who-marched-washington-and-screen Born Ruby Ann Wallace in the early 1920s in Cleveland, actress and civil rights activist Ruby Dee most identified with the part of New York City where she was raised.<p>"I don't know who I would be if I weren't this child from Harlem, this woman from Harlem. It's in me so deep," Dee told NPR's <em>Tell Me More</em> in 2007.<p>She died Wednesday of natural causes at her home in New Rochelle, N.Y., surrounded by her children and grandchildren. She was 91.<p>Dee, who took the surname of her first husband, blues singer Frankie Dee, grew up in Harlem's rich cultural neighborhood, writing poetry. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:43:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31230 at http://kgou.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen 'Lego Movie' Caught In Amazon's Battle With Warner Home Video http://kgou.org/post/lego-movie-caught-amazons-battle-warner-home-video Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, BYLINE: We begin NPR's Business News with another Amazon standoff. Amazon, the giant online retailer, is in a battle with Warner Home Video. Amazon says it deserves a bigger piece of the pie, and until the company gets it it's refusing to sell Warner's forthcoming DVDs. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31157 at http://kgou.org Authors Angered Over Amazon's Dispute With Publisher Hachette http://kgou.org/post/authors-angered-over-amazons-dispute-publisher-hachette Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We've reached a moment that probably shouldn't surprise us when it comes to the modern publishing industry. A lot of people are addicted to buying books online using Amazon. But Amazon is now in a pricing dispute with the publisher Hachette. The online giant is refusing to accept orders for upcoming books from Hachette, which has a heavy-hitting roster of authors. NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO: Some authors are furious at Amazon.<p>NINA LADEN: They don't really care. Thu, 29 May 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 30236 at http://kgou.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://kgou.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 30144 at http://kgou.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents Calif. Gov. Brown Urged To Expand Tax Credits For Movie Industry http://kgou.org/post/calif-gov-brown-urged-expand-tax-credits-movie-industry The state Assembly passed a bill to offer tax incentives to film and TV production companies. Big city mayors signed a letter in support, but it's not clear Gov. Jerry Brown will sign on. Wed, 14 May 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 29200 at http://kgou.org Hollywood Protests Against Owners Of Beverly Hills Hotel http://kgou.org/post/hollywood-protests-against-owners-beverly-hills-hotel Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>A landmark hotel in Hollywood has become the focus of protest. The hotel is part of an international chain. The hotel chain is owned by the Sultan of Brunei. He's the ruler of a tiny Southeast Asian country that recently introduced a strict form of Islamic Sharia laws. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 28892 at http://kgou.org Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://kgou.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 25472 at http://kgou.org Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://kgou.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 23936 at http://kgou.org