David Schaper http://kgou.org en For Short Trips, Intercity Buses Horn In On Airline Customers http://kgou.org/post/short-trips-intercity-buses-horn-airline-customers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK. It's hard to imagine a bus getting you some were faster than a plane. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 08:56:00 +0000 David Schaper 27725 at http://kgou.org The Long Wait On Safety Rules For The 'Soda Can' Of Rail Cars http://kgou.org/post/long-wait-safety-rules-soda-can-rail-cars Freight trains roll through the Chicago suburb of Barrington, Ill., every day, many pulling older tank cars known as DOT-111s. They're known as the "soda can" of rail cars, says village President Karen Darch, because their shells are so thin.<p>Many of the DOT-111s are full of heavy Canadian tar sands crude oil. Some carry ethanol. And more and more of them are loaded with light Bakken crude oil from North Dakota.<p>"The worry is that if there's a derailment and the car is punctured, if any of the flammable materials in it ... Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 David Schaper 27318 at http://kgou.org The Long Wait On Safety Rules For The 'Soda Can' Of Rail Cars Fewer Complaints Help To Boost Airline Quality Ratings http://kgou.org/post/fewer-complaints-help-boost-airline-quality-ratings The nation's airlines are running late more often and losing more suitcases. But passengers are complaining less, that's boosted airline quality ratings to their highest level ever. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 09:19:00 +0000 David Schaper 26789 at http://kgou.org Chicago Celebrates A Century Of Baseball At Wrigley Field http://kgou.org/post/chicago-celebrates-century-baseball-wrigley-field When the first pitch is thrown between the Chicago Cubs and the Philadelphia Phillies on Friday, it will mark the start of the 100th professional baseball season at iconic Wrigley Field.<p>The ball park on Chicago's North Side, known as the Friendly Confines, opened as the home of the Chicago Federals 100 years ago this month.<p>The Cubs moved there two years later, and in all that time the Cubs have never won a World Series. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 09:39:00 +0000 David Schaper 26582 at http://kgou.org Chicago Celebrates A Century Of Baseball At Wrigley Field Legal Action Initiated Over Malaysian Flight's Disappearance http://kgou.org/post/legal-action-initiated-over-malaysian-flights-disappearance A Chicago law firm is taking the first legal action against Malaysian Airlines and Boeing, the maker of the 777 that disappeared over the Indian Ocean, on behalf of the families of the passengers. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 09:21:00 +0000 David Schaper 26258 at http://kgou.org Board Rules Athletes At Northwestern University Are Employees http://kgou.org/post/board-rules-athletes-northwestern-university-are-employees Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>A major ruling by a federal agency could turn the multibillion dollar business of college sports upside down. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 09:05:00 +0000 David Schaper 26033 at http://kgou.org NLRB Sides With College Football Players Hoping To Unionize http://kgou.org/post/nlrb-sides-college-football-players-hoping-unionize Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>A ruling by the National Labor Relations Board today could really shake up big-money college sports. The board took the first step in favor of allowing Northwestern University's football players to unionize. A regional director for the board ruled that these college athletes meet the definition of university employees under federal law.<p>NPR's David Schaper joins us now from Chicago. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 21:51:00 +0000 David Schaper 26018 at http://kgou.org Off Australia, Searchers Find Possible Clues To Airliner Mystery http://kgou.org/post/australia-searchers-find-possible-clues-airliner-mystery Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>As morning breaks over the Indian Ocean, crews are searching for objects in the water that could be debris from a missing Malaysian Airlines jet. Australian satellites spotted two objects: one that appears to be almost 80 feet long, the other about 15 feet long. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:13:00 +0000 David Schaper 25595 at http://kgou.org FAA Review Finds Dreamliner 'Fundamentally Sound' http://kgou.org/post/faa-review-finds-dreamliner-fundamentally-sound A review by the Federal Aviation Administration and Boeing has concluded that the troubled 787 known as the Dreamliner is safe. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 David Schaper 25545 at http://kgou.org A Terrible Winter Wreaks Havoc On Roads, Pipes And City Budgets http://kgou.org/post/terrible-winter-wreaks-havoc-roads-pipes-and-city-budgets Bitter cold has returned to parts of the Midwest, mid-Atlantic and Northeast, following another heavy snowstorm that left 1 to 2 feet of snow from Ohio to New England.<p>And when all this snow finally melts, it'll expose the physical toll of this brutal winter: potholes, broken water mains, collapsed catch basins and other infrastructure problems.<p>"This winter's crazy, crazy busy," says John Polishak, a foreman for the Chicago Department of Water Management. "Everybody's been working 16 hours a day, seven days a week. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 22:35:00 +0000 David Schaper 25157 at http://kgou.org A Terrible Winter Wreaks Havoc On Roads, Pipes And City Budgets