Lauren Silverman http://kgou.org en One Wealthy Couple's Mission To Save Marriages, En Masse http://kgou.org/post/one-wealthy-couples-mission-save-marriages-en-masse At a church in South Dallas, in one of the poorest parts of town, the room is packed with hundreds of couples. They're sitting, holding hands and staring into each other's eyes.<p>Their hosts, multi-millionaire couple Harville Hendrix and Helen LaKelly Hunt, are on a mission: to save marriages. They're trying to saturate the city with relationship counseling at workshops like this one, aiming to reach couples who wouldn't or couldn't otherwise afford to attend conventional marriage counseling.<p>Harville Hendrix is working the crowd, joking and trying to ease the tension. Sat, 31 May 2014 11:46:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 30409 at http://kgou.org One Wealthy Couple's Mission To Save Marriages, En Masse Investors Pool Money Online To Buy Real Estate http://kgou.org/post/investors-pool-money-online-buy-real-estate The crowdfunding trend — where people donate money through sites like Kickstarter to back projects — has grown quickly. Now investors are pooling their money online to buy real estate. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 25388 at http://kgou.org New Heat Treatment Has Changed Lives For Some With Severe Asthma http://kgou.org/post/new-heat-treatment-has-changed-lives-some-severe-asthma If you've ever tried to drink something through one of those little red coffee stirrers instead of a full-sized straw, you know what it's like to breathe with asthma.<p>Twenty-five million Americans have been diagnosed with <a href="http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/asthma.html">asthma</a>. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 08:22:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 22919 at http://kgou.org New Heat Treatment Has Changed Lives For Some With Severe Asthma Life-Support Battle Over Pregnant Texas Woman Heads To Court http://kgou.org/post/life-support-battle-over-pregnant-texas-woman-court-friday The case of the Texas woman, 22 weeks pregnant and being kept on life-support machines at a Forth Worth hospital against her husband's wishes, goes before a judge in North Texas on Friday.<p>Marlise Munoz has been on respirators and ventilators since she was found unconscious in her home in November, when she was 14 weeks pregnant.<p>Her family says it has medical evidence that she's brain-dead. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 08:42:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 21796 at http://kgou.org Life-Support Battle Over Pregnant Texas Woman Heads To Court In These Gyms, Nobody Cares How You Look In Yoga Pants http://kgou.org/post/these-gyms-nobody-cares-how-you-look-yoga-pants If you want to lift weights or use the treadmill at Downsize Fitness, you have to be at least 50 pounds overweight.<p>Kendall Schrantz is a fan – and a member.<p>The 24-year-old has struggled with her weight since she was in the second grade. The looks she got at other gyms made her uncomfortable.<p>But now she drives more than an hour to Downsize Fitness in Fort Worth three times a week, just to exercise.<p>"It's worth every single penny I paid for gas," she said. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 08:28:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 21504 at http://kgou.org In These Gyms, Nobody Cares How You Look In Yoga Pants Texas Megachurch At Center Of Measles Outbreak http://kgou.org/post/texas-megachurch-center-measles-outbreak Measles was declared eliminated in the U.S. more than a decade ago. But in recent years, the highly infectious disease has cropped up in communities with low vaccination rates, most recently in North Texas.<p>There, 21 people — the majority of whom have not been immunized — have gotten the disease, which began at a vaccine-skeptical megachurch.<p>The outbreak began when a man who contracted the virus on a recent trip to Indonesia visited the Eagle Mountain International Church in Newark, about an hour and a half northwest of Dallas.<p>Earlier this week, crowds flooded in for regular services. Sun, 01 Sep 2013 12:17:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 12708 at http://kgou.org Texas Megachurch At Center Of Measles Outbreak How The Death Of A 12-Year-Old Changed The City Of Dallas http://kgou.org/post/how-death-12-year-old-changed-city-dallas <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzfJ_O8ij2A</p> Wed, 24 Jul 2013 21:01:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 10274 at http://kgou.org How The Death Of A 12-Year-Old Changed The City Of Dallas At Bush Library, A Chance To Become The Decider In Chief http://kgou.org/post/bush-library-chance-become-decider-chief <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abXiVNRa6vw</p> Sat, 27 Apr 2013 10:48:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 4714 at http://kgou.org At Bush Library, A Chance To Become The Decider In Chief Young Adults With Autism Can Thrive In High-Tech Jobs http://kgou.org/post/young-adults-autism-can-thrive-high-tech-jobs The job hunt is complicated enough for most high school and college graduates — and even tougher for the growing number of young people on the autism spectrum. Despite the obstacles that people with autism face trying to find work, there's a natural landing place: the tech industry.<p>Amelia Schabel graduated from high school five years ago. She had good grades and enrolled in community college. But it was too stressful. Mon, 22 Apr 2013 07:26:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 4328 at http://kgou.org Young Adults With Autism Can Thrive In High-Tech Jobs