David Folkenflik http://kgou.org en Tech News Site Re/code Creates Buzz In Silicon Valley http://kgou.org/post/tech-news-site-recode-creates-buzz-silicon-valley Re/code is a new tech site that doesn't charge its readers or expect to make much from ads. Instead, it has a successful conference business. Other media also see potential profits in conferences. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:14:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 26719 at http://kgou.org Resignation Revives Doubts About Bloomberg China Coverage http://kgou.org/post/resignation-revives-doubts-about-bloomberg-china-coverage <em>Bloomberg News</em> finds itself under unwelcome scrutiny once again, as its parent company's chairman suggests that reporting on the corruption of China ruling elites isn't part of its core mission. A key China editor also revealed this week that he had quit <em>Bloomberg</em> in protest of a decision not to publish a subsequent investigation. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:55:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 25926 at http://kgou.org Joe McGinniss, Headline-Grabbing Author, Dies At 71 http://kgou.org/post/joe-mcginniss-headline-grabbing-author-dies-71 Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Journalist and bestselling author Joe McGinness has died. The author of classic books about politics and true crime was 71 years old. He suffered from complications due to inoperable prostate cancer. As NPR media correspondent David Folkenflik recalls, McGinness courted controversy throughout his career.<p>DAVID FOLKENFLIK, BYLINE: The concept of hypocrisy is woven through Joe McGinness' work, the chasm separating our public and private selves. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 24970 at http://kgou.org After Newsweek 'Outs' Purported Bitcoin Founder, Questions Follow http://kgou.org/post/after-newsweek-outs-purported-bitcoin-founder-questions-follow Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 24721 at http://kgou.org Out Of Portland, A Digital Ripple Hits U.S. News Media http://kgou.org/post/out-portland-digital-ripple-hits-us-news-media Owners of The Oregonian are shedding the identity of a daily print newspaper and emphasizing digital content instead. The shift has been received with both cheers and outrage nationwide. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:40:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 24187 at http://kgou.org Piers Morgan Shown The Door, While CNN Weighs Its Next Step http://kgou.org/post/piers-morgan-shown-door-while-cnn-weighs-its-next-step Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>CNN has announced that it's canceling "Piers Morgan Live." The primetime show has suffered from weak ratings and controversy. Piers Morgan is British and a former tabloid editor and reality show judge. He was named three years ago to replace Larry King as CNN's most prominent interviewer. NPR's media correspondent David Folkenflik joins us from our New York bureau to sort through this. And first, David, why ultimately did Morgan fail? Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 23943 at http://kgou.org Consumer Advocates Alarmed By $45 Billion Deal http://kgou.org/post/consumer-advocates-alarmed-45-billion-deal Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>Comcast is already the nation's biggest cable TV and Internet service provider. And now, it's trying to get a whole lot bigger. The company struck a deal to buy its top cable rival, Time Warner Cable. The price tag, $45 billion. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 21:22:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 23216 at http://kgou.org Cable Deal: Comcast To Buy Time Warner http://kgou.org/post/comcast-buy-time-warner-according-reports Comcast has confirmed it is buying Time Warner. The merger would combine the country's two largest cable companies and likely draw scrutiny from regulators. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 10:09:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 23170 at http://kgou.org eBay Co-Founder's Media Company Launches Digital Magazine http://kgou.org/post/ebay-co-founders-media-company-launches-digital-magazine Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. Good morning.<p>In the coming weeks, NPR media correspondent David Folkenflik will tell us about media outlets grappling with how to report and present the news, and how to pay for that reporting amid major changes in the industry. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 09:55:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 22997 at http://kgou.org Former Wonkblog Team To Create New Site For Vox Media http://kgou.org/post/former-wonkblog-team-create-new-site-vox-media Ezra Klein and the team behind the Wonkblog at The Washington Post have found a new home. They are joining Vox Media, a digital outfit with sites serving sports fans, foodies and gamers — but little in the way of news about politics. The creation of the new site, tentatively called Project X, demonstrates the pull of digital media for entrepreneurial journalists. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 09:55:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 21964 at http://kgou.org