Snap Judgment http://kgou.org en Sherlock Hound http://kgou.org/post/sherlock-hound Kirby Verret's grandpa was Houma Indian who lived in the bayou with a peculiar dog named Brown. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:40:00 +0000 editor 27521 at http://kgou.org Wait For A Miracle http://kgou.org/post/wait-miracle What if you need a doctor, but doctors are not allowed? Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:40:00 +0000 editor 27522 at http://kgou.org Far From Home http://kgou.org/post/far-home A young Inuit girl lives the violent transition between traditional and modern societies. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:40:00 +0000 editor 27523 at http://kgou.org The Pirate Negotiator http://kgou.org/post/pirate-negotiator Danish shipping CEO Per Gullestrup knew how to drive a hard bargain. But when he learned that 12 of his employees were being ransomed by pirates, he faced the most important negotiation of his life. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:46:00 +0000 editor 27117 at http://kgou.org His Feminine Side http://kgou.org/post/his-feminine-side Josh Healey's drama club crush picks The Vagina Monologues for the school play...featuring him in the starring role. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:46:00 +0000 editor 27115 at http://kgou.org The Undocumented Informant http://kgou.org/post/undocumented-informant Norma never expected to walk into a police station and come out an informant. The decision was supposed to be her saving grace. Instead, it bound her to a criminal life. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:46:00 +0000 editor 27116 at http://kgou.org Not Good Men http://kgou.org/post/not-good-men Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>Now then, we're going to kick off today's "Lost Cause" episode with a story about family that is not a family story. As such, listeners with small children are advised.<p>JAY: (ph)I remember getting new hush puppies. And me and this kid named Henry, this little Chinese kid named Henry decided that we thought it was maybe possible that we could dig to China. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:00:00 +0000 editor 26143 at http://kgou.org Top Shelf http://kgou.org/post/top-shelf Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>I was about to graduate law school, right, and I was desperate for a job. I sent out resumes everywhere, all over the country. But no luck, not even a nibble. But finally, I knock on the door of one of my mentors. I'm in a straight panic. He looks at my resume, and says, what is wrong with you? Here is your problem. Here, this its way too black. What do you mean too black? Let them find out you're black after they meet you, not now. You are trying to open doors, not close them. What? Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:00:00 +0000 editor 26282 at http://kgou.org The Hometown Crowd http://kgou.org/post/hometown-crowd Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>Welcome back to SNAP JUDGMENT the "Lost Cause" episode. Now today, even though something appears unwinnable, we are not saying no. For our next story, SNAP JUDGMENT's Nancy Lopez speaks to Marco Vidal. Now because of the violence surrounding characters in this piece, listener discretion is advised.<p>NANCY LOPEZ, BYLINE: Growing up in Dallas, Marco Vidal's one and only dream was to become a professional soccer player in Mexico. And when he turned 15, his dream almost came true. He was picked up by Los Tigres or the Tigers, a team from northern Mexico. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 26141 at http://kgou.org The Real Problem http://kgou.org/post/real-problem Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>Welcome back to the SNAP, from PRX and NPR the "Lost Cause" episode. My name is Glynn Washington. And today on the show, just because something shouldn't be done, doesn't mean we aren't going to do it. Now like a lot of people, I hated math growing up, hated it. It was the worst. But SNAP JUDGMENT producer Joe Rosenberg spoke to Edward Frenkel. And Edward had the opposite problem.<p>JOE ROSENBERG, BYLINE: Edward Frenkel grew up in the 1980's in Russia just outside of Moscow.<p>EDWARD FRENKEL: Well, in the former Soviet Union. Now it's called Russia. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 26142 at http://kgou.org