Snap Judgment http://kgou.org en The Knockout Artist http://kgou.org/post/knockout-artist George Garrett is a young man in the '60s, making his way through the world of the California Youth Authority with his two fists of fury, his wits and a secret. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:00:00 +0000 editor 33160 at http://kgou.org The Legend Of Steve Davies http://kgou.org/post/legend-steve-davies In one of soccer's most legendary fairy tales, manager Harry Redknapp once plucked a hardcore fan from the crowd and put him to the test for West Ham United. What happens next made the fan a legend. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:00:00 +0000 editor 33161 at http://kgou.org Brokedown Boxing http://kgou.org/post/brokedown-boxing Mark Sayer knew that if he was going to prove himself as a Thai boxer, he'd have to fight in Thailand. Where in Thailand? That was another matter. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:00:00 +0000 editor 33162 at http://kgou.org Speaking Ill Of The Dead http://kgou.org/post/speaking-ill-dead Transcript <p>GARY JANSEN: It was a cold, cold night and my wife asked me to go upstairs to get a pair of socks out of my son's room. It was a dark room, there was a nightlight on. As soon as I walked in, I felt like there was a presence or a person standing behind me. So instinctively, my shoulders went up and I turned around quickly but there was nothing there. I'd never felt something like this before. And the only way I can describe it - as if someone had an electric glove and was rubbing the length of my back. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:31:00 +0000 editor 32665 at http://kgou.org Exorcist http://kgou.org/post/exorcist Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>All right, welcome back. I'm doing a special Uncle Glynn's SNAP JUDGMENT "Campfire Tales." All right, all right, all right, all right - it's from NPR and PRX. I said it. And I've got a story for y'all that comes straight from the darkness. So there's this guy I knew. His name is Alan, and he worked with mental patients in the Midwest. And he started working in a wing with the healthiest people, but Alan wanted to be where the action was. He actually asked to be transferred to the acute ward which housed some of the most psychotic people in the region. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:31:00 +0000 editor 32666 at http://kgou.org Old Pictures http://kgou.org/post/old-pictures Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>All right now, tonight in front of the campfire we're going to have our own special SNAP JUDGMENT, isn't that right? I want you all to come back around here - put the stick in the fire, Jamaal. Now, you kids ain't going to remember - I'm going to tell you this anyway, all right? If something ever looks too good to be true, run away.<p>NICOLE SELKEN: The funny thing about it is when I walked in the door the first time, there was kind of a pretty big wooden picture frame with all these little pictures in it. It was the only thing in the house. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:31:00 +0000 editor 32667 at http://kgou.org Two Bowls http://kgou.org/post/two-bowls From the RISK! storytelling podcast comes a story by Christine Lee of love and sustenance in North Korea. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:35:00 +0000 editor 32218 at http://kgou.org The Phantom Twin http://kgou.org/post/phantom-twin Christa and her twin sister, Cara, did everything they could to set themselves apart. But when tragedy struck, the lengths Christa went to get close to her sister were beyond incredible. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:35:00 +0000 editor 32219 at http://kgou.org Baby Steps http://kgou.org/post/baby-steps When you are trapped inside a jail of your own making, the only liberator up to the task is a fellow prisoner. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:35:00 +0000 editor 32220 at http://kgou.org Genesis, Lady Jaye and the Pandrogyne http://kgou.org/post/genesis-lady-jaye-and-pandrogyne Transcript <p>GLYNN WASHINGTON, HOST: <p>Welcome back to SNAP JUDGMENT from PRX and NPR - the contents unknown episode. Today we're trying to find out about that which we do not know. We're going to kick this section off with a love story, the likes of which you have never heard before. Now, this is NPR - nothing graphic, but sensitive listeners and parents of young children are advised. Producer Brendan Baker spoke to Genesis P-Orridge.<p>GENESIS P-ORRIDGE: We're looking at various newspapers that have been reproduced in this book. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 14:59:00 +0000 editor 31741 at http://kgou.org