Scott Horsley http://kgou.org en Obama's Executive Orders Take On Unequal Pay For Women http://kgou.org/post/obamas-executive-orders-take-unequal-pay-women President Obama signs two executive orders Tuesday morning, designed to encourage federal contractors to pay men and women equally. The move could bring more Democratic-leaning women to the polls. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26790 at http://kgou.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial http://kgou.org/post/enrollee-goal-met-obamacare-still-faces-political-trial President Obama and his supporters had a rare opportunity to celebrate this week.<p>A last-minute surge in people signing up for health insurance sent the total government enrollment figures over the seven-million mark.<p>That number seemed out of reach just a few months ago, when a crash-prone website threatened to undermine the president's signature health care law.<p>Republicans are still bent on repealing the law, but now millions more Americans have a stake in Obamacare's survival.<p>On Tuesday, the president marked the comeback. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26665 at http://kgou.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage http://kgou.org/post/arkansas-voters-may-get-chance-raise-minimum-wage President Obama travels to Michigan Wednesday to tout his proposal to boost the minimum wage.<p>Raising the wage to $10.10 an hour is one of the top agenda items for Obama and his fellow Democrats during this mid-term election year. The White House says the move would put more money in the pockets of some 28 million workers.<p>One test of that strategy will be in Arkansas, where proponents are trying to put a minimum wage increase on the ballot in November. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:54:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26415 at http://kgou.org In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage Cause For Hope And Frustration In the Shadow Of ACA Deadline http://kgou.org/post/cause-hope-and-frustration-shadow-aca-deadline As the Affordable Care Act's midnight deadline draws near, there has been a surge in last-minute signups. The heavy traffic has caused both glitches in the website and optimism from some forecasters. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26295 at http://kgou.org Obama Aims To Soothe Strained Relations In Saudi Arabia http://kgou.org/post/obama-aims-soothe-strained-relations-saudi-arabia President Obama met Friday with the king of Saudi Arabia. There's considerable friction in the U.S.-Saudi relationship at the moment, with key differences over Syria and Iran. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26156 at http://kgou.org Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues http://kgou.org/post/obama-meets-internet-ceos-discuss-privacy-issues Leaders of high-tech companies, including Google and Facebook, descended on the White House Friday for a meeting with President Obama on the subject of privacy. The meeting itself was private. But aides say Obama wanted to hear from the CEOs about their concerns with the government's high-tech surveillance.<p>High-tech CEOs are not the obvious messengers to be delivering a privacy lecture to the government. After all, they make their money by scanning customers' emails and tracking their movements, all with the goal of serving up more targeted ads. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25676 at http://kgou.org Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues Obama Ratchets Up Sanctions Against Putin's Personal Allies http://kgou.org/post/obama-ratchets-sanctions-against-putins-personal-allies Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The Ukrainian government ordered its border guards to withdraw from Crimea today. Pro-Russian forces there seized more Ukrainian property, including at least two warships. We have more details on those events elsewhere in the program.<p>Meantime, in Moscow today, the foreign minister complained that ethnic Russians outside Crimea and eastern Ukraine are having their rights violated. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25594 at http://kgou.org In ACA March Madness, Obama's Bracket Is Just A Role Player http://kgou.org/post/aca-march-madness-obamas-bracket-just-role-player Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>In what's become an annual ritual, President Obama turned sports analyst today. He filled out his bracket for March Madness, the NCAA's college basketball tournament. Obama told ESPN he's picking Florida, Arizona, and Louisville to make the final four and Michigan State to win the national championship.<p>PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA: I think they know how to win. I think they're getting healthy. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25522 at http://kgou.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On http://kgou.org/post/bittersweet-goodbye-white-house-pastry-chef-move The first family must be crust fallen.<p>Bill Yosses, the White House pastry chef, is moving to New York in June.<p>"Though I am incredibly sad to see Bill Yosses go, I am also so grateful to him for his outstanding work," first lady Michelle Obama said in a statement. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:19:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25466 at http://kgou.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On With Sanctions, Obama Aims For Those Close To Putin http://kgou.org/post/sanctions-obama-aims-those-close-putin The Obama administration is ordering new sanctions against 11 Russian and Ukrainian officials. The move is designed to penalize Russia for efforts to split Crimea away from Ukraine. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25359 at http://kgou.org