Gregory Warner http://kgou.org en How Rwanda's Only Ice Cream Shop Challenges Cultural Taboos http://kgou.org/post/how-rwandas-only-ice-cream-shop-challenges-cultural-taboos Rwanda has a warm climate, and the people love milk. You'd think ice cream would be an easy sell.<p>But mention ice cream to Chantal Kabatesi, and she rubs her jaw like she's at the dentist with a toothache. When she first tasted ice cream at the age of 35 "it was like eating hailstones," the kind that fall on her childhood village once or twice a year.<p>"I thought, 'Oh no, what are we serving to our customers? Thu, 10 Apr 2014 19:56:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 27002 at http://kgou.org How Rwanda's Only Ice Cream Shop Challenges Cultural Taboos Theater Group Gets Generations Talking About Rwandan Genocide http://kgou.org/post/theater-groups-gets-generations-talking-about-rwandan-genocide Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm David Greene.<p>Twenty years ago, a genocide was carried out in Rwanda. Almost a million people were murdered, mostly members of the minority Tutsi population. We've been looking, this week, at how that country has changed since then. Today, more than half of Rwanda's population is under the age of 20. They have no memory of that searing event. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 09:40:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26879 at http://kgou.org Remembering Rwandans Who Followed Their Conscience http://kgou.org/post/remembering-rwandans-who-followed-their-conscience Olive Mukankusi lives in a two-room house with mud walls and a dirt floor in a village called Igati, in eastern Rwanda's Rwamagana province. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26854 at http://kgou.org Remembering Rwandans Who Followed Their Conscience Rwanda Honors Dead, Celebrates Progress, 20 Years After Genocide http://kgou.org/post/rwanda-honors-dead-celebrates-progress-20-years-after-genocide After a minute of silence at noon, Monday's remembrance of the 20th anniversary of the Rwandan genocide began with testimony from a survivor.<p>The screaming started soon after.<p>In the crowd of 30,000 gathered in Amahoro stadium in Kigali, the Rwandan capital, first this person then that began to wail and thrash. Men in yellow vests took them to a special room of mattresses in the stadium basement.<p>In general, Rwandan culture discourages such outward displays of grief. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 21:54:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26777 at http://kgou.org Rwanda Honors Dead, Celebrates Progress, 20 Years After Genocide Ceremonies Commemorate 20 Years Since Rwanda Genocide http://kgou.org/post/ceremonies-commemorate-20-years-rwanda-genocide The ethnic slaughter killed nearly a million people. The massacre was born of years of tension between the majority Hutu and minority Tutsi. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:15:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26724 at http://kgou.org 20 Years Later, Rwanda Hopes To Be A 'Light For The World' http://kgou.org/post/20-years-later-rwanda-hopes-be-light-world Rwandan President Paul Kagame is working to transform the legacy of hatred, 20 years after the genocide. The new generation is being taught to find a common purpose in reconstructing Rwanda. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:02:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26692 at http://kgou.org What 'The Simpsons' Says About Ukraine's Language Divide http://kgou.org/post/what-simpsons-says-about-ukraines-language-divide Misha Kostin, a 21-year-old construction engineer in eastern Ukraine, loves <em>The Simpsons</em>. He's loved it for 10 years. He says the animated series "illustrates everyday life problems in humorous ways, and offers a useful moral at the end of each episode."<p>And though Kostin and most of the people in eastern Ukraine are native Russian speakers, he prefers to download episodes dubbed not in Russian but in his second language, Ukrainian. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:46:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26332 at http://kgou.org What 'The Simpsons' Says About Ukraine's Language Divide In Ukraine's Industrial Heart, An Economic Affinity With Russia http://kgou.org/post/ukraines-industrial-heart-economic-affinity-russia In Eastern Ukraine, the country's industrial heartland, many workers fear for their jobs if Ukraine joins the European Union. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 26154 at http://kgou.org In A Divided Donetsk, Russians And Ukrainians Vie For Support http://kgou.org/post/divided-donetsk-russians-and-ukrainians-vie-support Two rallies took place recently on Lenin Square in Donetsk, in eastern Ukraine.<p>At the first, a pro-Ukranian rally on March 5, thousands marched with Ukranian flags, shouting, "Down With Putin! Donetsk is Ukraine!" They were attacked by pro-Russia supporters.<p>A football fan club called the Ultras defended the demonstrators, but the next day, Russian media reported that a pro-Russian demonstration was attacked by soccer hooligans.<p>"It was the opposite!" says demonstrator Enrique Menendez, an internet marketer. (Despite his name, Enrique was born in Donetsk. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 25923 at http://kgou.org In A Divided Donetsk, Russians And Ukrainians Vie For Support Without Orders, Ukrainian Troops Are Anchorless In Crimea http://kgou.org/post/without-orders-ukrainian-troops-are-anchorless-crimea Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>I'm Robert Siegel.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>SIEGEL: Music and fireworks in Moscow today, as Russia formalized its annexation of Crimea. There was a more muted celebration in Brussels, where Ukraine signed a political association agreement with the European Union. Coming up, we'll talk about what Russia's new stance means for the U.S.<p>CORNISH: But first, to Crimea. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 25684 at http://kgou.org