Michele Kelemen http://kgou.org en Taunt Or Miscalculation? Iran's Provocative Pick For U.N. Envoy http://kgou.org/post/taunt-or-miscalculation-irans-provocative-pick-un-envoy Iran's reported decision to name Hamid Aboutalebi as its ambassador to the United Nations has ignited anger in the U.S. That's because the diplomat was part of the student group that held Americans hostage in 1979. Now, dozens of lawmakers are urging the Obama administration to deny him a visa.<p>It's the latest sign of just how difficult it will be for Washington and Tehran to overcome decades of mistrust.<p>By most accounts, Aboutalebi wasn't directly involved in the seizure of the U.S. Embassy in Tehran. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 09:45:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 26647 at http://kgou.org Taunt Or Miscalculation? Iran's Provocative Pick For U.N. Envoy Russia Cautions Against A Return Of Cold War Rhetoric http://kgou.org/post/russia-cautions-against-return-cold-war-rhetoric Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Ever since Russia annexed Crimea, NATO has been watching and waiting for Russia's next moves. This morning, NATO's military commander, U.S. Air Force General Philip Breedlove, said Russia has the forces it needs along Ukraine's border to carryout a full scale invasion of the eastern part of that country within a matter of days. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:38:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 26427 at http://kgou.org Kerry Weighs Wildcard In Mideast Talks: Freedom For Israeli Spy http://kgou.org/post/kerry-weighs-wildcard-mideast-talks-freedom-israeli-spy The U.S. might release a notorious Israeli spy in order to keep peace talks with the Palestinians going — but the idea faces backlash both in the U.S. and abroad. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 26392 at http://kgou.org Ukraine Must Make Hard Choices To Fix Its Economy http://kgou.org/post/ukraine-must-make-hard-choices-fix-its-economy Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>Western countries are taking a two-fold approach to the Ukraine crisis: isolate Russia and help Ukraine overcome massive economic challenges. The International Monetary Fund has a bailout package in the works. It requires Ukraine to carry out difficult reforms. Ukraine has fallen short on such conditions in the past but the stakes are higher now.<p>NPR's Michele Kelemen reports.<p>MICHELE KELEMEN, BYLINE: A former U.S. ambassador to Ukraine, Steven Pifer says Russia's annexation of Crimea shocked the West and made it more determined to push back. U.S. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 26113 at http://kgou.org U.S.-Saudi Relations Strain Over Syria And Iran http://kgou.org/post/us-saudi-relations-strain-over-syria-and-iran After visiting Rome, President Obama's next stop is Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, on Friday. He will reassure Saudi officials that the U.S. is committed to security in the Gulf. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 26037 at http://kgou.org Tumult In Crimea Has Some Fearing A Cold War Redux http://kgou.org/post/tumult-crimea-has-some-fearing-cold-war-redux Russia's annexation of Crimea has troubled its relations with the U.S. As Russia and the U.S. begin to trade sanctions in retaliation, analysts wonder if this spells a renewal of Cold War rivalry. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 25528 at http://kgou.org Russia Votes To Annex Crimea, As The West Looks On http://kgou.org/post/russia-votes-annex-crimea-west-looks Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>Russia's President Vladimir Putin moved today to overturn recent history by reclaiming Crimea for Russia. Putin signed a treaty to annex Ukraine's Crimean Peninsula and gave a rousing speech to parliament laying out his case. He is also blasted the West for trying to frighten him with sanctions.<p>The United States calls Putin's actions illegal. But as NPR's Michele Kelemen reports, the U.S. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 25449 at http://kgou.org Yatsenyuk Appeals For International Aid For Ukraine http://kgou.org/post/yatsenyuk-appeals-international-aid-ukraine Ukraine's interim Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk takes his case to the United Nations on Thursday, as he tries to build support for his country in its territorial conflict with Russia. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 10:47:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 25084 at http://kgou.org Ukraine's Interim Prime Minister To Visit White House http://kgou.org/post/ukraines-interim-prime-minister-visit-white-house Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>Ukraine's interim prime minister meets with President Obama today at the White House. That visit comes at a time when Ukraine's territorial integrity is under threat. The country's region of Crimea is expected to vote this weekend to secede and join Russia. U.S. efforts to resolve this diplomatically with Moscow have gone nowhere. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 24990 at http://kgou.org Pending Russian Response, Kerry's Travel Plans Are Up In The Air http://kgou.org/post/pending-russian-response-kerrys-travel-plans-are-air Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>I'm Robert Siegel.<p>And we begin this hour with the latest on the standoff over Ukraine. Today, Russian forces seized the Ukrainian naval post, military hospital and a missile unit in Crimea. At the same time, Moscow accused Kiev of encouraging right-wing groups and creating lawlessness in eastern Ukraine. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 20:22:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 24871 at http://kgou.org