Liz Halloran http://kgou.org en Bloomberg Seeks To Alter Gun Debate With $50 Million, And Moms http://kgou.org/post/bloomberg-seeks-alter-gun-debate-50-million-and-moms Billionaire Michael Bloomberg's plan to invest $50 million in what he describes as a mom-driven grass-roots effort to support pro-gun-safety candidates grabbed headlines Wednesday, and energized gun control activists.<p>The commitment, the former New York City mayor says, aims to beat back the profound political influence of the National Rifle Association in 15 targeted states — to "make them afraid of us," he told NBC's <em>Today </em>show.<p>"This is what the American public wants," Bloomberg said, referring to his group's intended focus on gun-purchase background checks.<p>Polls show that B Wed, 16 Apr 2014 21:49:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 27397 at http://kgou.org Bloomberg Seeks To Alter Gun Debate With $50 Million, And Moms Backlash Over State Party's Progressive Agenda May Hobble Udall http://kgou.org/post/backlash-over-state-partys-progressive-agenda-may-hobble-udall Colorado Democrat Mark Udall's bid for a second term has become the most unexpectedly competitive U.S. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:06:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 27285 at http://kgou.org Backlash Over State Party's Progressive Agenda May Hobble Udall 'Kissing Congressman' Video Puts Scandal In Unusual Focus http://kgou.org/post/kissing-congressman-video-puts-scandal-unusual-focus Embattled GOP Rep. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 26930 at http://kgou.org 'Kissing Congressman' Video Puts Scandal In Unusual Focus Congressman's Lament: $174,000 Isn't Enough To Make Ends Meet http://kgou.org/post/congressmans-lament-174000-isnt-enough-make-ends-meet In what world does an annual salary of $174,000 meet the definition of underpaid?<p>That would be in the nation's capital, where soon-to-be-retired Rep. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:05:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 26616 at http://kgou.org Congressman's Lament: $174,000 Isn't Enough To Make Ends Meet Who's Who In Senate-CIA Report Showdown http://kgou.org/post/whos-who-senate-cia-report-showdown The world could soon get its first official look at the CIA's post-Sept. 11 interrogation and detention activities now that the Senate Intelligence Committee has voted to make public a blockbuster report about the agency's secret program.<p>The Senate panel's<strong> </strong>move to declassify key parts of the 6,300-page document comes just weeks after a rancorous battle erupted between the committee's Democratic chairwoman, Sen. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:14:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 26552 at http://kgou.org Who's Who In Senate-CIA Report Showdown A Younger, Wealthier Capital City Turns A Political Page http://kgou.org/post/younger-wealthier-capital-city-turns-political-page District of Columbia Mayor Vincent Gray has been shadowed by scandal since the day he was elected to the city's top job in 2010, and there's no doubt it crippled his re-election campaign.<p>An <a href="http://www.wusa9.com/story/news/politics/2014/03/31/dc-mayor-federal-probe/7135439/">ongoing federal probe</a> into how you ran your previous campaign will do that.<p>But the decisive rejection of Gray, 71, in Tuesday's Democratic primary in favor of challenger Muriel Bowser, a member of the D.C. City Council, also reflected a changing city. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:13:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 26480 at http://kgou.org A Younger, Wealthier Capital City Turns A Political Page Conservative Media Watchdog: Univision, Telemundo Favor Liberals http://kgou.org/post/conservative-media-watchdog-univision-telemundo-favor-liberals The nation's increasingly powerful Spanish-language television networks show a distinct liberal bias in covering domestic news, a conservative media watchdog group asserted Tuesday.<p>The Media Research Center says that its<a href="http://www.mrc.org/press-releases/media-research-center-launches-mrc-latino-first-spanish-language-conservative-media-w"> four-month analysis</a> of weekday evening newscasts aired on Univision and Telemundo showed that the networks' domestic coverage was "dominated by partisans" from the left.<p>Authors Ken Oliver-Mendez and Rich Noyes, who were particularly critic Tue, 01 Apr 2014 19:33:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 26382 at http://kgou.org Conservative Media Watchdog: Univision, Telemundo Favor Liberals No Break From Politics On Obamacare Deadline Day http://kgou.org/post/no-break-politics-obamacare-deadline-day The sign-up period for 2014 individual insurance coverage required under President Obama's Affordable Care Act expires Monday, much as it began.<p>There were HealthCare.gov website snafus, White House pleas for enrollees, and the need for "navigators" to help those enrollees work their way through the often-balky federal insurance exchange site. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 26321 at http://kgou.org No Break From Politics On Obamacare Deadline Day Senate Slugfest Highlights Hawaii's Changing Political Landscape http://kgou.org/post/senate-slugfest-highlights-hawaiis-changing-political-landscape It says something about the changing politics of Hawaii that Democratic powerhouse Daniel Inouye's deathbed pick of a successor was ignored by his own party.<p>The question is what.<p>The December 2012 death of the long-serving senator — and one of the state's founding fathers — has exposed cracks in Hawaii's solidly Democratic façade, leading to a contentious Senate primary that has placed age, gender and ethnicity at center stage.<p>The combatants are two respected liberals: Sen. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 25925 at http://kgou.org Senate Slugfest Highlights Hawaii's Changing Political Landscape Top Democrat Insists Party Will Hold Senate — But Turnout Is Key http://kgou.org/post/top-democrat-insists-party-will-hold-senate-turnout-key As increasingly confident Republican leaders predict big midterm election gains, the head of Democratic National Committee put on her game face Tuesday and insisted the party will hold control of the Senate.<p>The Democrats' grass-roots organization, said Florida Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, and what she characterized as the GOP's continuing alienation of women, minority, LGBT and middle-class voters, bodes well for her party this fall.<p>"Our best weapon may just be Republicans themselves," said Wasserman Schultz, the chairwoman of the DNC, at a press conference. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 17:43:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 25429 at http://kgou.org Top Democrat Insists Party Will Hold Senate — But Turnout Is Key