Eleanor Beardsley http://kgou.org en Firefights And Fallen Separatists, As Ukraine Offensive Advances http://kgou.org/post/firefights-and-fallen-separatists-ukraine-offensive-advances Early Thursday morning, the Ukrainian military moved into towns held by militants. Firefights and casualties have been reported at a number of different locations. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27938 at http://kgou.org Moscow Answers Ukrainian Offensive With Warning Of Its Own http://kgou.org/post/moscow-answers-ukrainian-offensive-warning-its-own Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Russia's Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov warned today that his country would respond if its citizens or interests came under attack in Ukraine. The warning came as the interim Ukrainian government ordered a new offensive against pro-Moscow militants occupying government buildings across Eastern Ukraine. NPR's Eleanor Beardsley reports from Donetsk.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: As the threat of real war heats up, so does the propaganda war. One of the things journalists have been hearing a lot lately from people here is the word pravda, or truth. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27856 at http://kgou.org Security Situation In Eastern Ukraine Is Unpredictable http://kgou.org/post/security-situation-eastern-ukraine-unpredictable In some of the towns where pro-Moscow militants have occupied government buildings, it is clear that someone is giving orders. In other places, a state of near chaos reigns. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 10:32:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27807 at http://kgou.org Amid Ukraine's Faltering Hopes For Peace, Biden Speaks In Kiev http://kgou.org/post/amid-ukraines-faltering-hopes-peace-biden-speaks-kiev Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Vice President Joe Biden warned Russia today that it must join in efforts to reduce tensions in Ukraine. Biden was in Ukraine's capital, Kiev, and it looks like last week's international agreement to disarm militant groups in that country is failing. Ukrainian president says the security service will resume an anti-terrorist operation following the discovery of two bodies in eastern Ukraine. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27778 at http://kgou.org Slovyansk Strengthens Resolve To Fight Kiev Government http://kgou.org/post/slaviansk-strengthens-resolve-fight-kiev-government Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Vice President Joe Biden has wrapped up his visit to the Ukrainian capital of Kiev which was a show of support for that country's beleaguered interim government. This morning, the U.S. announced nearly $60 million in economic, political and non-lethal military aid. That assistance comes as Kiev and Moscow accuse each other of breaking last week's agreement that called for armed groups to lay down their weapons and vacate public spaces. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 10:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27734 at http://kgou.org Eastern Ukraine Town Sent Reeling After Checkpoint Killings http://kgou.org/post/eastern-ukraine-town-sent-reeling-after-checkpoint-killings The killing of three people at a checkpoint in the eastern Ukrainian city of Slaviansk has increased tension in the town, where a government building is being occupied by pro-Moscow militants. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27705 at http://kgou.org Ukraine's Divide, Too Broad For Easter To Bridge? http://kgou.org/post/ukraines-divide-may-be-too-broad-easter-bridge Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin. Ukraine celebrates Easter today as a divided country. Last week, world leaders met in Geneva to try to tamp down the crisis and end the occupation of government buildings by pro-Russian militants. So far, nothing has happened. Hoping the holiday will calm tensions, Ukraine's interim defense minister called an Easter truce. But despite their common faith, many feel the divide between Ukrainians in the east and west may be too large to heal. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27607 at http://kgou.org Despite Easter 'Truce,' Standoff In Ukraine Appears Steadfast http://kgou.org/post/despite-easter-truce-standoff-ukraine-appears-steadfast In the Ukrainian city of Donetsk, the opposing camps seem increasingly entrenched, despite a diplomatic effort to ease tensions. Pro-Russian forces refuse to leave occupied buildings and public squares in the east. It's an uneasy Easter weekend and neither side is willing to budge. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27598 at http://kgou.org Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://kgou.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:02:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26691 at http://kgou.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English http://kgou.org/post/dans-le-train-french-spend-their-commute-learning-english On some French trains, the conductor's whistle signals more than just a departure. For commuters traveling on an express train from Reims to Paris — a 90-mile, 45-minute ride — it means the beginning of English class.<p>"Before the course, we were sleeping in the train in the morning," says passenger-student Gilles Hallais. "So I prefer practicing English."<p>Hallais, 44, is a journalist at French public radio. He says while he doesn't need English for his work, he does need it for his life. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26181 at http://kgou.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English