Eleanor Beardsley http://kgou.org en Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://kgou.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:02:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26691 at http://kgou.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English http://kgou.org/post/dans-le-train-french-spend-their-commute-learning-english On some French trains, the conductor's whistle signals more than just a departure. For commuters traveling on an express train from Reims to Paris — a 90-mile, 45-minute ride — it means the beginning of English class.<p>"Before the course, we were sleeping in the train in the morning," says passenger-student Gilles Hallais. "So I prefer practicing English."<p>Hallais, 44, is a journalist at French public radio. He says while he doesn't need English for his work, he does need it for his life. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26181 at http://kgou.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English Paris Poised To Elect City Of Light's First Female Mayor http://kgou.org/post/paris-poised-elect-city-lights-first-female-mayor Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Voters in Paris go to the polls Sunday to elect a new mayor. And for the first time in its long history, the city will have a woman at the helm. Despite the historical significance, the race has failed to spark much enthusiasm among voters. NPR's Eleanor Beardsley has more.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: On a warm spring-ish afternoon, Socialist candidate for mayor Anne Hidalgo is out in Paris' bourgeois 16th Arrondissement to support a public housing project. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26161 at http://kgou.org Ukrainians Speculate What Russia Plans To Do Next http://kgou.org/post/ukrainians-speculate-over-what-russia-plans-do-next Ukrainians in Kiev are debating if the Russian military buildup on the border between the two countries is just saber rattling or the precursor to a second incursion. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 09:04:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25955 at http://kgou.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://kgou.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:29:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25764 at http://kgou.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://kgou.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25598 at http://kgou.org For Crimea, Split From Ukraine Would Be Complicated And Costly http://kgou.org/post/crimea-split-ukraine-would-be-complicated-and-costly Crimea is a poor region, heavily subsidized by Kiev, and gets all its gas, water and food from Ukraine. Russia doesn't even have a land link with the Crimean peninsula and absorbing it will affect banks, schools, tourism and pensions for residents. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25552 at http://kgou.org Anger And Shock In Kiev Over Russia's Land Grab http://kgou.org/post/anger-and-shock-kiev-over-russias-land-grab Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Now, Russia's actions are being celebrated in Crimea. Many people there are excited about the idea of joining Russia. The emotion is much more downtrodden in the capital, Kiev, where there's a feeling of loss setting in.<p>And here's Eleanor Beardsley is there.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: Where there was a TV, it seemed people were gathered around it to watch Putin's speech. The Russian leader said Crimea rightfully belonged to Russia. And with the stroke of a pen, took away part of Ukraine. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25478 at http://kgou.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://kgou.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25363 at http://kgou.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://kgou.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:37:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25324 at http://kgou.org