Business and Economy http://kgou.org en FAA Prohibits U.S. Airlines From Flying To Tel Aviv http://kgou.org/post/faa-prohibits-us-airlines-flying-tel-aviv The Federal Aviation Administration has issued a 24-hour ban on flights to and from the Tel Aviv airport.<p>"The notice was issued in response to a rocket strike which landed approximately one mile from Ben Gurion International Airport on the morning of July 22, 2014," the FAA said in a statement.<p><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/22/333908274/as-kerry-tries-for-ceasefire-attacks-continue-in-gaza">As we reported earlier</a>, some American carriers had already started canceling flights to and from Israel. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:54:00 +0000 editor 33894 at http://kgou.org FAA Prohibits U.S. Airlines From Flying To Tel Aviv 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers http://kgou.org/post/audience-measurement-how-networks-and-critics-are-wrestling-numbers If the Television Critics Association press tour of 2014, wrapping up Tuesday and Wednesday with presentations from PBS, has had a catchphrase, it's "audience measurement."<p>Critics heard an extended presentation from Nielsen on the very first day of tour about the company's plans to begin measuring viewership on mobile devices and, more generally, about its scramble to keep up – catch up, really – with the way television works now. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Linda Holmes 33889 at http://kgou.org 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers U.S. Appeals Courts Issue Conflicting Decisions On Obamacare Subsidies http://kgou.org/post/us-appeals-court-deals-blow-obamas-health-law A U.S. appeals court on Tuesday dealt a significant blow to the Affordable Care Act, when it threw out an IRS regulation that governs subsidies. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:37:00 +0000 editor 33888 at http://kgou.org States Experiment With Health Savings Accounts For Medicaid http://kgou.org/post/states-experiment-health-savings-accounts-medicaid If all goes according to plan, next year many Arkansas Medicaid beneficiaries will be required to make monthly contributions to so-called Health Independence Accounts. Those who don't may have to pay more of the cost of their medical services, and in some cases may be refused services.<p>Supporters say it will help nudge Medicaid beneficiaries toward becoming more cost-conscious health care consumers. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:43:00 +0000 Michelle Andrews 33884 at http://kgou.org States Experiment With Health Savings Accounts For Medicaid Detroit Pensioners Approve City's Bankruptcy Plan http://kgou.org/post/detroit-pensioners-approve-citys-bankruptcy-plan Detroit moved one step closer toward bankruptcy after crossing a major hurdle on Monday.<p>With a large margin, retired police and firefighters approved modest cuts in their pensions that are part of the city's bankruptcy plans.<p><a href="http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20140721/METRO01/307210050/Official-vote-tally-shows-big-support-Detroit-debt-cutting-plan"><em>The Detroit News</em> reports</a>:<p><blockquote><p>"About 82 percent of retired and active Detroit police and firefighters who voted overwhelmingly approved the city's plan to reduce their inflationary increases but preserve the Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:27:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 33886 at http://kgou.org Piano Made Famous In 'Casablanca' Goes On Auction Block http://kgou.org/post/piano-made-famous-casablanca-goes-auction-block The piano is a constant presence in the Humphrey Bogart film, underscoring much of the legendary bar-room dialogue. Bonhams auction house expects it to sell for over a million dollars. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:25:00 +0000 editor 33873 at http://kgou.org Credit Suisse Reports $770 Million Loss http://kgou.org/post/credit-suisse-reports-770-million-loss The second-quarter figure marks the biggest loss for the bank since the 2008 financial crisis. Much of that is due to a legal settlement with U.S. tax authorities — including a $2.6 billion fine. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:22:00 +0000 editor 33874 at http://kgou.org Telecommuting Didn't Work Out For One Transplanted Worker http://kgou.org/post/telecommuting-didnt-work-out-one-transplanted-worker All summer, we're talking with out-of-work young adults about how they're making ends meet. Chrystina Gastlelum, 32, moved to Maine from New York City and tried to keep doing her job remotely. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 33860 at http://kgou.org Some Food Companies Are Quietly Dumping GMO Ingredients http://kgou.org/post/some-food-producers-are-quietly-dumping-gmo-ingredients A tour of the Ben and Jerry's Factory in Waterbury, Vt., includes a stop at the "Flavor Graveyard," where ice cream combinations that didn't make the cut are put to rest under the shade of big trees.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Jane Lindholm 33861 at http://kgou.org Some Food Companies Are Quietly Dumping GMO Ingredients Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead? http://kgou.org/post/net-neutrality-shall-i-compare-thee-highway-showerhead <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCUg5A-ZAw0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou9S3wrHg8c</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:35:00 +0000 NPR Staff 33852 at http://kgou.org Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead?