Sports http://kgou.org en The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating http://kgou.org/post/epic-2200-mile-tour-de-france-also-test-epic-eating The famously grueling cycling race involves about 2,200 miles of furious pedaling, huge mountain climbs and downhill sprints at 50-plus miles per hour. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:16:00 +0000 editor 33975 at http://kgou.org The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating The Washington Football Team That Must Not Be Named http://kgou.org/post/washington-football-team-must-not-be-named Anybody who possesses a scintilla of good taste (and/or decency) is against the Washington football team using its longtime nickname. I don't have to scrounge for Brownie points by getting all indignant about it.<p>The one person who is most adamant about keeping the name is Daniel Snyder, who owns the Washington football franchise, and who appears to be either especially stubborn, or insensitive or both.<p>The obscene nickname is, of course, Redskins, and increasingly it's been suggested that we in the media should stop saying or writing it.<p>It's certainly an original proposition. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 10:10:00 +0000 Frank Deford 33957 at http://kgou.org The Washington Football Team That Must Not Be Named Woman Will Officiate Big 12 Football Game For The First Time http://kgou.org/post/woman-will-officiate-big-12-football-game-first-time Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with congratulations to Catherine Conti. Cat Conti will be the first woman to officiate a football game in the Big 12 Conference. She'll be part of the crew when Kansas plays Southeast Missouri State. The officiating supervisor says she got that job because she's, quote, "darned good." Kansas coach Charlie Weis says because of Ms. Conti, he will try not to swear as much.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Actually, Coach Weis, equality means curse away.<p>INSKEEP: It's [bleep] MORNING EDITION. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:25:00 +0000 editor 33875 at http://kgou.org Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It http://kgou.org/post/learning-love-ocean-after-lifetime-fearing-it Tim Bomba is a tall, rangy guy with a quick smile. He's a marathoner, a triathlete (he's done two Ironman races), and every Wednesday morning for the last decade, Bomba has taught a ocean swimming course in Santa Monica, Calif.<p>The course, called Ocean 101, isn't for accomplished swimmers like Bomba. It's for people who are new to the ocean, and many participants are afraid of the water when they arrive. Bomba knows what they're going through. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:05:00 +0000 NPR Staff 33746 at http://kgou.org Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It It's Not The Size Of This Sumo Wrestler That's Stunning http://kgou.org/post/its-not-size-sumo-wrestler-thats-stunning <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhZ-xW-9YQA</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 19:44:00 +0000 Eugene S. Robinson 33740 at http://kgou.org It's Not The Size Of This Sumo Wrestler That's Stunning Why An African-American Sports Pioneer Remains Obscure http://kgou.org/post/why-african-american-sports-pioneer-remains-obscure Alice Coachman Davis never entered the pantheon of breakthrough African-American sports heroes, like Jesse Owens or Wilma Rudolph. But she was a pioneer nonetheless.<p>In 1948, competing as Alice Coachman, she became the first African-American woman to win Olympic gold, breaking the U.S. and Olympic records in the high jump.<p>Chances are, you've never heard of her. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 17:40:00 +0000 Alan Greenblatt 33738 at http://kgou.org Why An African-American Sports Pioneer Remains Obscure What It Takes To Be A Champion http://kgou.org/post/what-it-takes-be-champion Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>The Olympic motto is faster, higher, stronger. And year after year, athletes seem to live up to those words, but how?<p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARCHIVED BROADCAST)<p>DAVID EPSTEIN: We definitely are better. Although, it sort of depends how you look at the question because in some ways, we might not be as much better as we like to believe.<p>SIMON: David Epstein writes about sports science. He spoke to Guy Raz at the Ted Radio Hour.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARCHIVED BROADCAST)<p>GUY RAZ, BYLINE: So consider the 100-meter dash. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 12:11:00 +0000 editor 33720 at http://kgou.org In The World Of Global Gestures, The Fist Bump Stands Alone http://kgou.org/post/world-global-gestures-fist-bump-stands-alone Back in the 2008 presidential campaign, candidate Barack Obama launched a media storm when he nonchalantly fist bumped his wife Michelle. "Obama's Fist-bump Rocks The Nation!: <em>The Huffington Post</em> <a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/06/06/obama-fist-bump-rocks-the_n_105490.html">exclaimed</a>. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 11:08:00 +0000 editor 33710 at http://kgou.org In The World Of Global Gestures, The Fist Bump Stands Alone How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? http://kgou.org/post/how-do-our-near-wins-motivate-us-keep-going <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis' TEDTalk</strong><p>Not everyone can win the gold medal, and historian Sarah Lewis says that's a good thing. It's the near-wins and bare losses that truly motivate us to master our destinies.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis</strong><p>Author and art historian <a href="https://twitter.com/sarahelizalewis">Sarah Lewis</a> has emerged as a cultural powerhouse for her fresh perspectives on culture, history and identity. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 33656 at http://kgou.org How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? http://kgou.org/post/are-athletes-really-getting-faster-better-stronger <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About David Epstein's TEDTalk</strong><p>Humans seem to have gotten faster, better and stronger in almost every way. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 33655 at http://kgou.org Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger?