Moore http://kgou.org en 'Timing Is Everything' For First Responder Mental Health During Disasters http://kgou.org/post/timing-everything-first-responder-mental-health-during-disasters-0 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For over a decade, Lieutenant Brian Orr of the&nbsp;</span><a href="http://www.ohptroopers.com" style="line-height: 1.5;">Oklahoma Highway Patrol</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;has responded to disasters throughout the state, including both the 1999 and 2013 Moore tornadoes. He remembers each of them clearly.</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">“It was very difficult to see things, and of course first arriving, hearing screams from people and just the total devastation,” Orr said.</span></p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 12:53:40 +0000 Kate Carlton 20545 at http://kgou.org 'Timing Is Everything' For First Responder Mental Health During Disasters From Guymon To Poteau And Beyond: The Biggest StateImpact Stories Of 2013 http://kgou.org/post/guymon-poteau-and-beyond-biggest-stateimpact-stories-2013 <p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px;">The StateImpact team traveled about 10,000 miles in 2013 to interview Oklahomans about how government policy affects their lives.</span></p><p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(68, 68, 68);">Our reporting took us to all corners of Oklahoma, across the border into Texas, and to the nation’s capital and the U.S. Supreme Court.</p><p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 19:17:10 +0000 Joe Wertz & Logan Layden 20348 at http://kgou.org From Guymon To Poteau And Beyond: The Biggest StateImpact Stories Of 2013 StateImpact On OETA: Oklahoma Wind Farms And Weather Radar http://kgou.org/post/stateimpact-oeta-oklahoma-wind-farms-and-weather-radar <p></p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 17:33:00 +0000 Joe Wertz 15810 at http://kgou.org StateImpact On OETA: Oklahoma Wind Farms And Weather Radar Why The Growth Of Wind Energy Worries Weather Forecasters In Oklahoma http://kgou.org/post/why-growth-wind-energy-worries-weather-forecasters-oklahoma <p></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 17:03:32 +0000 Joe Wertz 15492 at http://kgou.org Why The Growth Of Wind Energy Worries Weather Forecasters In Oklahoma Why Gov. Mary Fallin Won’t Back School Storm Shelter Ballot Measure http://kgou.org/post/why-gov-mary-fallin-won-t-back-school-storm-shelter-ballot-measure <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 15px; line-height: 15px;"><span style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px;">Supporters of an initiative petition to fund tornado shelters in Oklahoma schools are gathering the thousands of signatures needed to send the proposal to a statewide vote, but Gov. Mary Fallin won&rsquo;t be on the list.</span></p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 16:21:58 +0000 Logan Layden 14452 at http://kgou.org Why Gov. Mary Fallin Won’t Back School Storm Shelter Ballot Measure Moore, Choctaw Each Receive $300K In U.S. Commerce Grants http://kgou.org/post/moore-choctaw-each-receive-300k-us-commerce-grants <p></p><p>Two organizations in Central Oklahoma will receive more than half-a-million dollars from the U.S. Department of Commerce as part of its Economic Development Administration grant program.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The City of Moore will receive $300,000 to hire a disaster coordinator develop strategies during the rebuilding efforts after May&rsquo;s devastating tornado. The job will also be responsible for managing disaster assistance at the federal, state and local level.</span></p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 19:26:00 +0000 KGOU Staff 14173 at http://kgou.org Moore, Choctaw Each Receive $300K In U.S. Commerce Grants Moore Tax Receipts Up As City Continues Recovery http://kgou.org/post/moore-tax-receipts-city-continues-recovery <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 15px; line-height: 15px;">Leaders in Moore say tornado recovery efforts have caused sales tax collections to skyrocket in the city.</p> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 17:31:41 +0000 Associated Press 13497 at http://kgou.org Moore Tax Receipts Up As City Continues Recovery List Of Schools Unwilling To Wait For Government Action on Tornado Shelters Grows http://kgou.org/post/list-schools-unwilling-wait-government-action-tornado-shelters-grows <p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px;">It’s only been little more than three months since an </span>EF5<span style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px;"> tornado ripped through Moore, </span>Okla<span style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px;">., and devastated two schools. And already, the state’s public schools are responding.</span></p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 19:17:00 +0000 Logan Layden 13168 at http://kgou.org List Of Schools Unwilling To Wait For Government Action on Tornado Shelters Grows Moore Building Code Changes Likely To Focus On Homes, Not Businesses http://kgou.org/post/moore-building-code-changes-likely-focus-homes-not-businesses <p></p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 18:35:00 +0000 Logan Layden 13031 at http://kgou.org Moore Building Code Changes Likely To Focus On Homes, Not Businesses Twister Truths: Can Nothing Survive An EF5 Tornado? http://kgou.org/post/twister-truths-can-nothing-survive-ef5-tornado <p></p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 16:01:20 +0000 Joe Wertz 12537 at http://kgou.org Twister Truths: Can Nothing Survive An EF5 Tornado?