Two Oklahoma Teachers Receive Presidential Math, Science Honor

Jan 3, 2014

The 2014 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is being presented to two Oklahoma teachers — including one who died Dec. 5.

Credit comedy_nose / Flickr Creative Commons

Teachers Diane Reece of Bokoshe Elementary and Carol Huett of Kelley Elementary in Moore have been announced as the Oklahoma recipients of the award.

Reece died Dec. 5 after a disease that affects bone marrow and blood cells developed into leukemia.

Reece introduced robotics to Bokoshe, helped obtain a grant for after-school programs and founded the town library. Huett has led several workshops on science safety and served on several district- and state-level committees on curriculum and assessment.


KGOU is a community-supported news organization and relies on contributions from readers and listeners to fulfill its mission of public service to Oklahoma and beyond. Donate online, or by contacting our Membership department.