Dana Orwig

Oklahoma Republican Party Chairman Dave Weston

With the 2016 presidential election cycle ramping up, the chairmanship of both the Oklahoma Republican and Democratic parties is up for grabs.

Republicans will gather April 11 at the Crossroads Church in Oklahoma City for their annual convention.

Incumbent GOP party boss Dave Weston is running for another terms but has two challengers — longtime party activist Pam Pollard and one-time tea party favorite Randy Brogdon.

 Oklahoma Democrats will select a new leader for its state party after Wallace Collins said he won't run for another two-year term.

State Senator To Seek Democratic Party Post

May 10, 2013
Connie Johnson, Democratic Nominee For the U.S. Senate.
Oklahoma Senate

A state senator from Oklahoma City has announced her candidacy for chairwoman of the Oklahoma Democratic Party.

State Sen. Constance Johnson (D-Oklahoma City) said Friday she will seek the post during the party's annual convention on Saturday, May 18. Democratic campaign strategist Jed Green will seek the vice-chair position.

Current Democratic Party Chairman Wallace Collins also is seeking re-election to the post, along with current vice-chair Dana Orwig. Collins is a former Democratic state legislator from Norman.